• title card: Dance with Death superimposed on some jars of medical supplies (recreated by Richard McGinlay)

Series 1 — Episode 12
Dance with Death

by Peter Ling and Sheilah Ward

Production No 3376, VTR/ABC/1241
Production completed: April 13 1961. First transmission: April 15 1961.


Dr. David Keel Ian Hendry regularDanger ManPolice SurgeonThe SaintThe Sweeney
Carol Wilson Ingrid Hafner regularPolice Surgeon
Elaine Bateman Caroline Blakiston regularThe SaintStar WarsThe SweeneyDepartment SRandall and HopkirkThe Champions
Trevor Price David Sutton
Beth Wilkinson Angela Douglas regularDoctor WhoThe SaintCarry On..Jason King
Major Caswell Ewan Roberts regularDanger ManThe Saint
Valerie Marne Pauline Shepherd ®
Mrs. Veronica Marne Diana King ® Dad’s Army
Philip Anthony Geoffrey Palmer ® regularDoctor Who007The ProfessionalsThe SaintPolice SurgeonThe Sweeney
John Steed Patrick Macnee regular007
Porter Norman Chappell ® regularCarry On..
Police Sergeant Neil Wilson ® regularDoctor WhoPolice Surgeon
Plainclothes Man Raymond Hodge ® regular
Hotel Receptionist Graeme Spurway
"Ginger" the Barman Alan Barry ®
Teenage Boy Ian Hobbs ®
Pianist at Bar Alan Clare ®
5 Female Dancers The Ken Bateman Formation Team
Girl in Bath unknown
Credits Legend:
Credited but not listed in press
Credited in press but not on screen
Credited in paperwork only
Uncredited / unattributed role
Crew: 90% opacity
® : illustrated from other sources

The camera script states 6 male extras and 6 female extras but then lists Alan Clare and the Ken Bateman Formation team in the closing credit slides; I think we may assume the enumerated extras are the girl in the bath and the dancers.

Images from other sources: Caroline Blakiston from a photo by Crispian Woodgate, Angela Douglas from “Coronation Street”, Ewan Roberts from “Spotlight” Spring 1968 (a 1963 Arthur Howell photo), Pauline Shepherd from a 1961 press photo, Diana King from “Spotlight” Spring 1968 (a 1967 Michael J. Barrett photo), Geoffrey Palmer from “Family Solicitor”, Norman Chappell from “Ghost Squad”: “Sentences of Death”, Neil Wilson from “The Frighteners”, Raymond Hodge from “The Crucible”, Alan Barry from “Spotlight” Spring 1968 (a 1966 Mark Gudgeon photo), Ian Hobbs from “A Night to Remember”, Alan Clare from the cover of his EP “The Alan Clare Trio With Bob Burns”.

Alan Clare and the Ken Bateman Formation Team were not credited in the TV Times listing but were mentioned in other press coverage at the time as well as the slide list at the end of the camera script.

fan forum Donate Become a Patron!