Directed by Richmond Harding
Production completed: 16 February 1963

Starring Patrick Macnee and Honor Blackman
Frankymole
You Have Just Been Posting (a lot)

Post by Frankymole »

My review:

http://www.theavengers.tv/forever/gale1-21vr.htm

As an amateur, I think it has reasonably good astronomy for its time, at least as far as the observatory procedures (theories about the genesis of the Solar System were many and varied in 1963!). Wisely centered around a nice multilevel set, expertly lit (far more convincing than observatories which appear in the color years). A reasonable murder-mystery romp, though with no real clues (to allow the viewer to play, too), and we see very little of romantic Cornwall where it's set (Cornwall is the Southwest tip of England, a storm-lashed former haven of smugglers and pirates, now favored by artists, sailors and walkers). The establishing shot film inserts merely show a London street, not unusual for season 2.

The Avenged?: Two corpses in Cornwall! Veteran telefantasy actor Keith Pyott (Doctor Who, The Prisoner) and also an intelligently-presented ethnic minority role with Dr Rahim. In the first half of the 1960s, The Avengers was actually ahead of most TV series with respect to diversity — odd, when compared with the show's late 1960s stereotyped portrayal of England as white and middle-class. There's also one pseudo-American financier in London: perhaps the first season 2 corpse to avoid blinking at an end-of-Act commercial break!

Diabolical Masterminds?: Grubby profiteers, really, though George A. Cooper has a climactic blazing rooftop gunfight with Macnee (on film), and Philip Latham has a certain sardonic charm as a cardigan-wearing astronomer. A far cry form the evil President Borusa in Doctor Who, yet similar in some ways. Everyone seems to be having a ball, which helps.